Society / The Seen

TACA Party Fever

Three Distinct Bashes Rock Dallas — and Keep the Social Swells Enthralled

BY // 01.17.17
photography Dana Driensky, Gary Gonihoo

As they say, the show must go on — even when it comes to a jam-packed, over-the-top fund-raising schedule. With The Arts Community Alliance (better known as TACA) leading the helm for the performing arts in Dallas, there is good reason to venture out in celebration of this benevolent bunch.

This organization keeps us on our toes with the glamorous chorus line of events it packs into the season. Act one was the 10th anniversary of TACA’s Party on the Green at Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek. We sampled dishes from 22 of Dallas’ mightiest chefs, including a sassafras braised lamb shank with blue corn cake, poached quail eggs, and pickled ramps rye cracker, crafted by the exuberant Lisa Garza of Sissy’s Southern Kitchen.

For Act two, we traded our garden-party attire for black-tie and ventured back to the Mansion for TACA’s Custom Auction Gala, with elegant fare from chef de cuisine Nick Walker. This is our favorite dinner party of the year; each luxurious inch of the Mansion is staged for dinner, with tables of socials throughout the dining room, library, bar and suites.

The grand finale set the stage for things to come: The board of governors and TACA corporate council gathered at the contemporary art-filled home of Marguerite Hoffman to announce the recipients of the 2017 Silver Cup Award. Come Tuesday, March 7, two of our city’s top influencers, Nancy Nasher and Walter Elcock will be honored with the prestigious Silver Cups at the annual luncheon.

Seen On the Scene
Party on the Green: Event chair Tierney Hutchins; honorary chairs and Lynn and Allan McBee; participating chefs Nick Amoriello, Fidel Baeza, Edgar Beas, Blythe Beck, Nicolas Blouin, Matt Dallman, Graham Dodds, Enrico Figliuolo, Mervin Friday, Scott Gottlich, Lisa Garca-Selcer, Jared Harms, Mathew Ingersoll, Brian Luscher, Matt McCallister, Danyele McPherson, Victor Palma, Stephen Rogers, Peter Rudolph, Abraham Salum, Michael Scott, Yasmin and Braden Wages, and Devadip Zahar.

Custom Auction Gala: Gala chairs Dianne and Mark LaRoe; honorary chairs Wanda Gierhart and Dean Fearing; custom auction chairman Rachel Michell with husband John; Heritage Auction’s Kimberly Serrano; Purvi Patel, Bill Albers, Kim Lewis, Suzy and Hank Bashore, Bill Jackman, Gwen and Leldon Echols, Nate Mattingly, Gayle Halperin, Katelynn Harris, Sarah Nelson, and Lauren Embrey.

Board of Governors Silver Cup Announcement Celebration: TACA president and executive director, Rebecca Young; 2017 Silver Cup Award recipients Nancy Nasher and Walter Elcock; host Marguerite Hoffman, John Swords, Deborah Nugent, Ken Travis, Mary Anne Cree, Zannie and Glenn Voss, John Cohn, Dolores and Larry Barzune, Rebecca Fletcher, and Joleen and Jim Chambers.

Home, chic home.

Featured Properties