Foodie Events / Restaurants

Chili, Burgers, Crawfish and a Judging Media

This Spicy Houston Cookoff Had It All

BY // 03.05.17
photography Meredith Flaherty Photography

What: Casa de Esperanza’s 7th Annual Young Professionals Chili Cook-Off

Where: Kirby Ice House

PC Moment: Clear blue skies and a sunny climate ushered in Casa de Esperanza‘s 7th annual Chili Cook-Off. Five hundred guests packed the spacious outdoor bar Kirby Ice House to watch 40 teams compete for the coveted cook-off title. The electric crowd sampled everything from traditional Texas chili (No beans allowed!) to white chicken renditions, while also enjoying burgers from The Burger Joint and Kirby Icehouse’s spicy crawfish.

PaperCity assistant digital editor Jailyn Marcel helped crown the winning chili alongside seven other judges — food and drink writer Mike Cortez; KPRC Reporter Cathy Hernandez; CultureMap and BravoTV.com contributor Marcy de Luna; Cordúa Restaurants General Manager Brian Doherty; Gr8 Plate Hospitality owner Paul Miller; Felice “Swanky Girl” Sloan, Co-Founder of Urban Swank; and Kevin Strickland, former Owner of Gratifi Kitchen + Bar. 

And the winning team is … Other Mothers Brothers, comprised of Cody Cole, Jason Kirker, Kyle Morrison, Roger Rule, Sasa Hadzic, and Scott Rule.

Other Mothers Brothers weren’t the only winners that afternoon. Several guests walked away with over-the-top raffle prizes including two roundtrip domestic airline tickets, a weekend in Fredericksburg, and a complete Rodeo Houston package.

Holiday Gifting

  • Mariquite Masterson
  • Cle Du Peau - Nail Polish
  • Nocturne Studio
  • Casa di Lino
  • Bond No 9 - Perfume
  • Mariquite Masterson
  • Oscar De La Renta - Clutch
  • Loeffler Randall - Clutch
  • Loeffler Randall - Shoes
  • Cle Du Peau - Lip Gloss
  • Oscar De La Renta - Earrings
  • Bond No 9 - Candle

The festive event helped raise a record $70,000 for Casa de Esperanza, which provides a safe space for children abused, neglected, and effected by HIV. 

Who: Chairs Katie and Patrick Morris & Lauren and Trent SimsHost Committee members Blake Aston, Melanie Chin, Mary Katherine and Chris George, Ally Hatz, Bruce and Minette Kish, Christina Mullin, Kim and Derek Myers, Lindsey and Richard Strattan, & Nealy Stuckey; former chairs Katie and Mitchell Currie, Brad Dinerstein, Jaclyn Martin

Home, chic home.

Featured Properties