Society / The Seen

Houston’s 2019 Women of Distinction Revealed: The 11 Power Ladies Who Are Setting Trends

BY // 08.14.18

The email invitations are flying across cyberspace. “Save the date, September 20, and see you at Tootsies,” they proclaim. It’s a cocktail party saluting the 2019 ABC 13 Women of Distinction.

Unlike the Houston Chronicle Best Dressed honorees whose identities are kept top secret until the announcement party, the ABC 13 Women of Distinction honorees are revealed in advance. And so it is that the 11 honorees are furiously clicking their keyboards and spreading the word.

Who will be taking bows on this hallowed Thursday night? Merele Yarborough steps into the spotlight as the Women of Distinction Ambassador, one who has proven her generous community spirit and philanthropic leadership over the years.

Also walking the runway in Tootsies will be honorees, drumroll please, Farida Abjani, Marilyn DeMontrond, Gaynell Drexler, Jo Lynn Falgout, Carolyn Faulk, Melissa Juneau, Dr. Kelly Larkin, Sneha Merchant, Claire Cormier-Thielke and Jerre Williams.

Three previous Women of Distinction — Cyndy Garza Roberts, Dr. Sippi Khurana and Shawntell McWilliams — are chairing the 32 annual Winter Ball on January 19. The honorees will be presented in black-tie splendor as they have their moment in the spotlight at the Hilton Americas-Houston. The gala evening benefits the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America.

Joining the merry throng will be honorary chairs Mary Ann and David McKeithan and a host of the ABC 13 news team. The evening is traditionally emceed by Channel 13 news anchors Tom Koch and Melanie Lawson, also a past Women of Distinction honoree.

Featured Properties