Society / The Seen

A Grand Celebration of All Things Design & Architecture

The PaperCity Design Awards Presentation

BY Matthew Ramirez & Catherine D. Anspon // 05.16.18
photography Jenny Antill Clifton & Daniel Ortiz

Texas Design Week Houston kicked off its second year in fabulous fashion, with the PaperCity Design Awards at Tilman Fertitta’s brilliant new project, The Post Oak Hotel. Cocktails in the lobby with a view of the two-story Rolls-Royce and Bentley dealership, gave way to the main event in The Post Oak Ball Room.

Six nationally recognized designers judged the almost 300 entries, including designers Miles Redd, Alex Papachristidis, and Joe Nahem of Nahem-Fox, along with architect and designer Ray Booth of McAlpine, Schumacher creative director Dara Caponigro, and Pencil & Paper Creative Development Co.’s Gen and Benjamin Sohr.

Ray Booth and Gen and Benjamin Sohr did the honors on stage, announcing the winning entries in 19 categories and presenting the Baccarat awards to the very deserving designers and architects.

Winning designers and architects include: Talbot Cooley and Blaine Gabrisch of TC Interiors; Melinda James of M. James Design Group; Kyle Humphries of Murphy Mears Architects; Shawn Gottschalk of studioMet; Ben Johnston; Jennifer Morris; Lauren Haskett; Ann Wolf; Katie Scott; Marie Flanigan; Chris Evans of Rottet Studio; Jaime Alvarez, Brooks Howell, and Mike Knight of Gensler; Jesse Hager and Gail Chen of Content Architecture; Simona Furini of Abel Design Group; Yoon You of studioMet; Pamela O’Brien of Pamela Hope Designs; Courtnay Tartt Elias of Creative Tonic; Radom Capital’s Steve Radom; Chip Trageser of OJB Landscape Architecture; Mac Hoak of Mecox; and Sandra Lucas and Melanie Anderson of Lucas/Eilers Design.

Two special awards honored well-deserving Houston individuals. The Resiliency Award, saluting the idea of talent and fortitude, went to Rusty Arena of Arena Design for his dedication and work rebuilding after Hurricane Harvey devastated his workshop and showroom. Arena Design celebrates 30 years as one of America’s acclaimed artisanal design houses practicing the art of hand-screened wallpapers and fabric. The Greater Good Award highlights projects that stand alone in their scope, brilliant design, and service to Houston. The Greater Good Award honors an individual, foundation, or company that has made a difference and galvanized the Houston community. Three teams were honored for the restoration of Levy Park: OJB Landscape Architecture (accepted by the firm’s Chip Trageser), Natalye Appel + Associates Architects (accepted by Natalye Appel), and Upper Kirby Foundation (accepted by board chair Maureen Sanders).

A tip of the hat to the PaperCity Design Award sponsors: Porcelanosa, Circa Lighting, The Post Oak Hotel, The Shade Store, Heritage Auctions, Baccarat, and Alton LaDay Media.

Cheering: Porcelanosa’s Angela Orozco, Ara Alfaro, Maria Rodriguez, Mayra Chapa, and Allie Philpot; Ed Beardsley, Frank Hettig, Michelle Castro, and Ariana Hartsock, all traveling in from Heritage’s Dallas headquarters; Baccarat’s Vicki Rusca, who graciously handed out stunning Baccarat awards; Carnan Properties’ Neal Hamil and Susan Sajadi; Shawnna Fatjo of Chateau Domingue; Levy Park director Stephanie Kiouses; Mike Mahlstedt; Houston Design Center’s Terry and Fred Baca; Missy Bellinger; Lee’Or Meyerson; Found’s Ruth and Neill Davis; LeTricia and Ronnie Wilbanks; Tina Silvestri, host of TXDW’s grand-opening bash the evening before; Jamie Garza-Graney; Lance DeGeorge; Rajani Alvarado; David Sutherland president Ted Chappell; Sutherland’s Olga Martinez; Gensler’s Lisa Pope Westerman; Greg Fourticq; John Cone; Barbara Tartt; Mark Elias; Bill Stubbs; Shane Cook; Holly and Steve Radom;Sarah Esfahani Tringhese and Robert Willey; Marta Fredricks; Torri Tokerud; Julie Dodson; Elegant Additions’ Julie Koch, Richard Humphreys and Henri Boyd; Angel Rios; David Brown; Katie and Stanton Scott; Alton LaDay; Chaille Ralph; Mecox owners Mac Hoak and Fred Perkins; Trisha and Josh Weisman; Barbara Davis; Rachel Hutchinson; Darla Bankston May; Gin Braverman; and Janus Lazarus.

Winning entries and honorable mention projects also will be published in the October 2018 PaperCity Decoration + Art issue. See the winning designs here.

Home, chic home.

Featured Properties


Like PaperCity Dallas on Facebook

Beyond the magazine. Get more of Dallas’ top restaurant, real estate, society, fashion and art in your news feed.