Society / The Seen

Rocket Star Honors

12 Remarkable University of Houston Alumni Lauded

BY // 04.17.17
photography Michelle Tran, Chris Watts

What: The University of Houston College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics (NSM) gala

Where: The University of Houston Student Center

PC Moment: Twelve remarkable alumni were honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award and Carolyn Farb was honored with the Legacy Award, her recognition reaching back to 1999 when she chaired the Natural Sciences and Mathematics gala which raised $3 million for the college. May and Professor Paul Chu served as honorary chairs of the event that honored Katy Caldwell, John Gibson Jr., Dr. Louis Green, astronaut Dr. Bernard Harris, Emily Leroust, Dr. Linda Sagarnaga Magill, Rushion McDonald, the late Robert Newhouse Jr., Thomas Smith, Dr. Herman Suit, Patrice Yarbough and Dr. John Zerwas.

Who: UH president Renu Khator and Suresh Khator, NSM Dean Dan Wells and wife Eva, Mayor Sylvester Turner, emcee Dominique Sachse, Karen and Dennis Boulle, Nick Florescu, Martha Wong, Yvonne and Rufus Cormier.

Featured Properties


Like PaperCity Dallas on Facebook

Beyond the magazine. Get more of Dallas’ top restaurant, real estate, society, fashion and art in your news feed.