Arts / Hot Ticket

The Oscars of the Texas Art World Return to Houston

Young Professionals Help Drive This Big Party of a Show

BY Matthew Ramirez & Errin Maye // 10.11.17

Annually, Art League Houston anoints a Texas Artist and Patron of the Year celebrated in a big bash at Hotel ZaZa. This year’s ALH Gala, Myth & Symbol, goes down Friday, October 13, co-chaired by savvy young professional art advisors Katherine Bowdoin Barthelme and Calia Alvarado Pettigrew. The black-tie night honors two-time Whitney Biennial talent Trenton Doyle Hancock as 2017 Texas Artist of the Year and mid-century maven and art collector Lynn Goode as 2017 Texas Patron of the Year.

This year’s gala unfurls in multiple acts, with cocktails, a seated dinner, awards ceremony, and throughout the night, a chance to score paintings, sculpture, and photographs by some very collectible Texas artists. Traditionally, there is fierce competition for the silent auction offerings, which always include a work by the honoree. Preview the auction lots here.

The illustrious lineup includes Michael Bise, Core Fellow Francesca Fuchs, Glassell School director Joseph Havel, and recent Texas Artists of the Year including Rachel Hecker, Jesse Lott, and Kermit Oliver. Guests can feel good about their attendance as ticket and auction proceeds go towards ALH’s consistently avant-garde and diverse programming. The evening also funds the art nonprofit’s initiatives Healing Art and ArtBound!  (Note: For the first time ever, tickets will be available at the door for those making last minute Friday night plans.)

What: Art League Houston’s Myth & Symbol Gala

When: Friday, October 13, 7 pm to midnight.

Where: Hotel ZaZa

Holiday Gifting

  • Asher Gallery
  • Bond No 9 - Perfume
  • Cle Du Peau - Lip Gloss
  • Wayne Smith
  • Cle Du Peau - Nail Polish
  • Elaine Turner - GiGi Flats
  • Oscar De La Renta - Clutch
  • Cotton Club
  • Cotton Club
  • Mariquite Masterson
  • Museum of Fine Arts Houston
  • Bond No 9 - Candle
  • Loeffler Randall - Clutch
  • Elaine Turner - Felicia Stole in Magenta
  • Mariquite Masterson
  • Loeffler Randall - Shoes
  • Wayne Smith
  • Oscar De La Renta - Earrings

Who: Co-chairs Katharine Bowdoin Barthelme and Calia Alvarado Pettigrew; Honorees Trenton Doyle Hancock as 2017 Texas Artist of the Year and Lynn Goode as 2017 Texas Patron of the Year.  

Tarriff: Single ticket $350; tables from $3,000

Purchase tickets here. 


Featured Properties