c
Culture / Entertainment

RodeoHouston’s Long Leaked Lineup Brings True Star Power — It’s Cowboys and Mega Talents

Cardi B Proves That Cowboys Really Can Learn New Tricks

BY // 01.04.19

The twice leaked RodeoHouston lineup is very real. But what last night’s official lineup “reveal” seriously lacked in suspense it made up for in confirmed magnetic star power.

Would an act as big and bold as Cardi B take the rotating stage? Would the oddly punctuated but ever-popular Panic! At The Disco make their first-ever appearance at NRG Stadium? Can country music bro Luke Bryan just not keep those shimmying hips away?

Yes, yes and yes.

All was made official Thursday night, and all rumors were confirmed. Every single act leaked on Twitter, and then Ticketmaster, is indeed performing on the predicted nights.

At first, The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo officials tried playing it coy about this worst-kept secret. After the first leak last week, the official Rodeo account tweeted out “Hmmm, that’s a mighty impressive lineup. But is it the real lineup? We’ll have to wait until the Jan. 3 reveal to see!” These steer-loving folk just wouldn’t steer the rodeo fans in the right direction.

But Houston music fans knew all along.

SHOP

Swipe
  • Bachendorfs
  • Bachendorfs
  • Bachendorfs
  • Bachendorfs
  • Bachendorfs
  • Bachendorfs
  • Bachendorfs

Twelve eclectic acts — more than half of the performers —  are making their RodeoHouston debut. That means first-timers filling up the star-studded roster like Kings of Leon, Camila Cabello, Panic! At The Disco, Santana, Prince Royce and Zedd.

Then, there are the country music newbies: Turnpike Troubadours, Luke Combs, Kacey Musgraves, Kane Brown and Old Dominion, who had to cancel back in 2017 due to a death in a band member’s family.

Some oldies but goodies in this year’s Rodeo concert lineup include Chris Stapleton, Cody Johnson in his third year in a row, Brad Paisley marking his 13th Rodeo concert, Tim McGraw, Luke Bryan, Zac Brown Band and Brooks & Dunn — making the return trip for the first time since 2010 and their 19th overall appearance.

And even before everything started leaking, we all knew country music legend George Strait would wrap it all up with a strong opening from Texan singer-songwriters Robert Earl Keen and Lyle Lovett.

“Though the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo remains deeply rooted in country music, we are also proud to be a part of our wonderfully diverse community,” Joel Cowley, Rodeo president and CEO, says. “As such, we are excited to present a wonderfully diverse and talented 2019 lineup that will welcome 12 newcomers to the rotating stage.”

Tickets go on sale next Thursday, January 10th, at 10 am through rodeohouston.com. The Online Waiting Room opens up at 9:30 am, and would be ticket buyers there will be randomly selected to enter the store and purchase the coveted ducats.

This year’s Houston Rodeo runs from Monday, February 25 to Sunday, March 17 — 21 days of now official music mayhem. And real stars.

You can check out the full, finally official, lineup below:

Kacey Musgraves – Monday, Feb. 25

Prince Royce – Tuesday, Feb. 26

Brooks & Dunn – Wednesday, Feb. 27

Luke Bryan – Thursday, Feb. 28

Cardi B – Friday, March 1

Turnpike Troubadours – Saturday, March 2

Panic! At The Disco – Sunday, March 3

Old Dominion – Monday, March 4

Camila Cabello – Tuesday, March 5

Luke Combs – Wednesday, March 6

Tim McGraw – Thursday, March 7

Zedd – Friday, March 8

Kane Brown – Saturday, March 9

Los Tigres Del Norte – Sunday, March 10

Zac Brown Band – Monday, March 11

Kings of Leon – Tuesday, March 12

Santana – Wednesday, March 13

Chris Stapleton – Thursday, March 14

Cody Johnson – Friday, March 15

Brad Paisley – Saturday, March 16

George Strait and special guests Lyle Lovett and Robert Earl Keen – Sunday, March 17

When others see a home,
We see a Work of Art
View Properties

Featured Properties

Swipe

Like PaperCity Dallas on Facebook

Beyond the magazine. Get more of Dallas’ top restaurant, real estate, society, fashion and art in your news feed.

X
X