Society / Featured Parties

Reluctant Billionaire Joins Astros Owner Jim Crane On Houston’s 2023 Men of Distinction Honor Roll

New Reveal Brings Out the City's Top Guns, Turns Steak 48 Into a Rollicking Party Scene

BY // 02.03.23
photography Alex Montoya

Throughout its 15 year history, the Men of Distinction luncheon has honored an impressive cadre of outstanding citizenry while raising more than $5.5 million for pediatric research in the Texas Medical Center. The 16th year, however, has achieved something that other organizations have been aspiring to for many years — succeeding in convincing reluctant billionaire John Arnold to accept the position of honoree.

Earning the credit is luncheon chair John Cangelosi, a close Arnold friend who, shall we say, pestered the philanthropist until he acquiesced.

Arnold will be honored at the Men of Distinction luncheon at River Oaks Country Club on May 3 along with Astros owner Jim Crane; Outstanding NFL Physician of the Year Dr. Jim Muntz, legendary local TV broadcaster Dave Ward and Bill McKeon, Texas Medical Center president and CEO.

The gents were announced at a swank gathering of heavy-hitters at Steak 48, hosted by Prime Steak Concepts founder Jeff Mastro and Chief Brand Officer Oliver Badgio. The popular steakhouse is noted for its charitable cocktail receptions and this night was no exception with flowing libations and waves of Steak 48’s yummy appetizers.

The private room pulsated with corporate and philanthropic energy due to the impressive turnout as the quality of the honorees commanded a strong audience. Consider past honorees who were in the mix — Ned Holmes, Keith Mosing, Gary Petersen, Jesse Tutor, Jim Crownover, David Weekly and Richard Mithoff.  Past luncheon chairs making the scene included Paul Murphy, Tracy Dieterich, Michael Mithoff and Dr. Devinder Bhatia.

DSC_0734 (Photo by Alex Montoya)
Melissa Sanderfer, Joanne King Herring, Mark Sullivan, Cheryl Byington at the Men of Distinction announcement party at Steak 48 (Photo by Alex Montoya)

The program included introduction of the medical teams receiving 2023 luncheon grants and a brief report on their specific areas of research.

PC Seen: Men of Distinction steering committee chair David Wuthrich, Joanne King Herring, Charles Tate, Rob Dale, Bob Moses, Sheridan and John Eddie Williams, Janet Gurwitch and Ron Franklin, Jeff Levy, Hallie Vanderhider, Tony Bradfield, Fady Armanious. Michael Mithoff, Beth Wolff, Scott Evans, Melissa Sandefer, Brian Thomas, Mark Sullivan, and Cheryl Byington.

The Residences at The Allen
Hotel-Inspired Living

Featured Properties